xi's moments
Home | Music & Theater

NCPA concert series set to begin tonight

chinadaily.com.cn | Updated: 2020-05-09 18:15

The NCPA has launched a series of online concerts. [Photo provided to China Daily]

The National Center for the Performing Arts has launched a series of online concerts which kicks off on May 9.

Titled Sound of Summer Blossoms, the series of online concerts will be held through June 27.

The first online concert on May 9 will see the NCPA Orchestra perform under the baton of conductor Lyu Jia, featuring repertories by Ludwig van Beethoven, including Symphony No 6 in F major, Op. 68 "Pastoral" and Symphony No. 1 in C major, celebrating the 250th anniversary of the birth of the German composer.

It will be the first concert held at the NCPA concert hall since Jan 22 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The concert will also be livestreamed by 22 arts organizations, including theaters, opera houses and symphony orchestras from 16 countries, including Wiener Staatsoper, the  Philadelphia Orchestra and the Alexandrov Ensemble.

Conductor Lyu Jia. [Photo provided to China Daily]
Global Edition
Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349