xi's moments
Home | Middle East

Iran announces sanctions against Trump, Pompeo for anti-Iran role

Xinhua | Updated: 2021-01-20 09:16

TEHRAN - Iran has sanctioned a number of senior US officials for having "a role in terrorist acts against Iran and violating human rights of Iranians", the Iranian Foreign Ministry announced Tuesday.

The sanction list includes President Donald Trump, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, former Secretary of Defense Mark Esper, and acting Secretary of Defense Christopher Miller, said the Ministry spokesman Saeed Khatibzadeh in a statement quoted by the Ministry's website.

Secretary of the Treasury Steven Mnuchin, Director of the Central Intelligence Agency Gina Haspel, former US National Security Advisor John Bolton, former chief of Iran Action Group and Special Representative for Iran Affairs Brian Hook, and Director of the Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) of the US Department of the Treasury Andrea Gacki are also among the sanctioned officials, added Khatibzadeh.

The Iranian Foreign Ministry decided to sanction the US officials to implement a law by the Parliament that calls for an encounter to US violation of human rights, US adventurism, and its acts of terror against Iran and Iranians, the spokesman noted.

Global Edition
Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349