xi's moments
Home | Music & Theater

A fantastic journey

By CHENG YUEZHU | CHINA DAILY | Updated: 2023-08-12 08:56

Pianist Wang Zitong performs at Beijing Concert Hall on June 15, as one stop of her first China tour. [Photo by LUO WEI/FOR CHINA DAILY]

"That said, the full title is Fantasy Pentaprism because all five pieces are related to the concept of fantasy in one way or another."

For the first part of the recital, the program features Bach's Chorale Prelude, BWV 639, arranged by Italian composer Ferruccio Busoni; In the Mists, a piano cycle by Czech composer Leos Janacek, and Piano Sonata No 3 in F-Sharp Minor, Op 23, written by Russian composer Alexander Scriabin.

"The Bach-Busoni piece primes listeners with its dignified yet captivating aura. Then, Janacek introduces an element of mystery and builds tension, which culminates in the fervent, unrelenting Scriabin," Wang says.

The second half comprises Mozart's Piano Sonata No 4 in E-Flat Major, K 282, and Franz Liszt's Piano Sonata in B Minor, S 178.

"After the intermission, I envisioned the contrast between light and dark — a juxtaposition of Mozart's pure and innocent sonata with Liszt's diabolic magnum opus," she adds.

From a personal perspective, for the China tour, Wang prepared pieces that resonate with her own life experiences, so that she can present them genuinely and portray the most authentic and convincing version of them.

|<< Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next   >>|
Global Edition
Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349