China / Regions

East Lake named national 5A scenic area

By Le Qin ( Updated: 2013-10-17 18:26

The National Tourism Administration named the East Lake Scenic Area in Wuhan, central China's Hubei province, a national 5A scenic area on Oct 11, reported.

This scenic area is a popular tourist destination in Hubei, due to its lake ecosystem and Chu culture, which dates back to the Spring and Autumn Period (770-476 BC) and the Warring States Period (476-221 BC).

The local authorities have taken measures such as building facilities, protecting resources, and developing and promoting the area, and the National Tourism Administration required that the scenic spot should improve its interpreting services and its security measures.

There are now a total of eight national 5A tourist attractions in Hubei province including the East Lake Scenic Area.

Edited by Niva Whyman

Hot Topics