Sports / Basketball

Spurs coach Popovich named NBA coach of year

(Agencies) Updated: 2014-04-23 10:12

Spurs coach Popovich named NBA coach of year
San Antonio Spurs head coach Gregg Popovich responds to questions from reporters during a news conference where he was named the NBA Coach of the Year at Spurs Practice Facility.   [Photo/Agencies]

WASHINGTON - San Antonio Spurs coach Gregg Popovich Tuesday was named NBA coach of the year for the third time.

Popovich joined Don Nelson and Pat Riley as the only coaches in league history to take home the Red Auerbach trophy three times in their career.

Popovich won the league's coach honor in two of the last three seasons.

Popovich led the Spurs a league-best 62-20 record, which gives them home-court advantage throughout the playoffs.

The Spurs won at least 50 games for the 15th straight season and topped 60 for the fourth time in that span, an unprecedented run of sustained excellence in the modern era.


Most Popular
What's Hot