xi's moments
Home | HK Macao Taiwan

Members of HKSAR Legislative Council disqualified for failing to meet legal requirements

chinadaily.com.cn | Updated: 2020-11-13 19:23

In accordance with the NPC Standing Committee's decision on the qualification of HKSAR legislators, the HKSAR government announced on Wednesday noon that four members of the sixth-term Legislative Council were disqualified.

The four disqualified lawmakers — Kwok Wing-hang, Yeung Ngok-kiu, Kwok Ka-ki and Leung Kai-cheong — failed to meet the legal requirements of upholding the HKSAR Basic Law and pledging allegiance to the HKSAR, according to the decision.

The decision applies to the sixth-term Legislative Council members whose nominations for election of the seventh-term Legislative Council, originally scheduled for September 6, were invalidated in accordance with the law.

The four intentionally breached their oaths of office, and failed to fulfill their legal obligations. Turning a blind eye to the interests of the public, they disrupted the operation of the Legislative Council, obstructed government administration by filibustering, and even solicited foreign countries' intervention in SAR affairs.

Global Edition
Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349