Home / Sports / Soccer

Football kings that missed trophies

(CRI/chinadaily.com.cn) Updated: 2016-06-28 14:22 Comments

Football kings that missed trophies

Lionel Messi of Argentina reacts after losing the Copa America championship final between Argentina and Chile at MetLife Stadium on June 26, 2016. [Photo/VCG]

Lionel Messi

Messi is the only football player in history to win five of FIFA's Ballon d'Or, or the European Footballer of the Year award for best player, previously winning the title four consecutive times.

He is also the first player to win three European Golden Shoes.

Messi announced his retirement from the national team as Chile beat Argentina 4-2 on the penalty shoot-out to win their second straight Copa America title.

Messi put his penalty kick over the crossbar during the shoot-out.

He says he has done all he can and it hurts not to be a champion.

Argentina's last major title win came in the 1993 Copa America.

They have now lost the final of a major tournament in three consecutive summers, including the 2014 World Cup final against Germany and 2015 Copa America final, also against Chile.

Previous Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next Page

Most Popular