xi's moments
Home | Asia Pacific

8 more ministers sworn into Sri Lanka's new cabinet

Xinhua | Updated: 2022-05-23 17:43

A worker transports goods at the Pettah Market in Colombo, Sri Lanka, May 21, 2022. [Photo/Xinhua]

COLOMBO -- Eight more cabinet ministers were sworn in before Sri Lankan President Gotabaya Rajapaksa on Monday as a new government is being formed amid weeks of political instability and economic crisis.

According to the President's Media Division, the eight ministers took oaths at the President's House in Colombo and later assumed duties in their respective ministries.

Douglas Devananda was sworn in as the minister of fisheries, Keheliya Rambukwella as the minister of water supply, Mahinda Amaraweera as the minister of agriculture, wildlife and forest conservation and Ramesh Pathirana as the industries minister.

Thirteen cabinet ministers had been appointed on two previous occasions following the appointment of Ranil Wickremesinghe as the prime minister on May 12.

Sri Lanka has seen weeks of public protests due to a shortage in essential supplies including food and medicines.

Global Edition
Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349