left corner left corner
China Daily Website

About GCC

Updated: 2012-12-04 20:53

The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) was established in an agreement concluded on 25 May 1981 in Riyadh among Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and UAE.

These countries declared that the GCC is established in view of the special relations between them, their similar political systems based on Islamic beliefs, joint destiny and common objectives.

The geographic proximity of the these countries and their general adoption of free trade economic policies are factors that encouraged them to establish the GCC.

On a per capita basis, they are among the richest countries in the world. The Gulf Cooperatoin Council headquarters is in Riyadh, the capital of Saudi Arabia, its largest member.

List of GCC Countries:

United Arab Emirates

The Kingdom of Bahrain

The Kingdom Of Saudi Arabia

The Sultanate of Oman



These countries are seeking to diversify their rapidly growing economies away from oil.